Personal

SELF-CARE🌸

Rising up in strength begins with getting grounded in hope. We are told, “But those who hope in the lord will renew their strength.”  Isaiah 40:31

We as students often romantiscise overexertion. Exhaustion is not the new chic, COFFEE  (though) a delicious necessity is not a food group and running on fumes is not admirable.  Why do we hold pedestals for sleepless nights, breakdowns and inner turmoil? Are those things REALLY to aspire to?  Self care, balance and the ability to know when our body and mind needs to take a step back. Those are the things we SHOULD admire. We have to stop blurring the line between ‘commitments’ and self-endangerment because too many students are burning out before they have a chance to truly shine. 

I could come on this account and pretend that I’m a perfect student that never burnout. But that would be a total lie and I truly want to stay authentic. 😊 I recently figured out that I do well with highly structured days that keeps me busy from the moment I wake up to the moment I go to sleep.  It also keeps me productive, happy and feeling great about myself.  However, this does not work for everyone. I know it isn’t easy to always stay positive. But I urge you to try! When you learn to love yourself and be confident in your ability, you are able to fulfill your true potential.

The magic of SELF-CARE is vital to figure out what you can do to keep yourself healthy and happy or you will burnout before you even leave undergrad. Today I choose to be  ME-SPONSIBLE. If you’re not there for yourself, who will be there? Its not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself and to make your happiness your priority. It’s necessary. 

ME-SPONSIBLE – Nourish your body with wholesome foods. Hydrate with abundance of water. Replenish your brain with restful sleep. Reinvigorate your muscles with exercise. Take an hour to do something you love. Be the reason you’re dancing in the mirror and singing in the shower. Treat yourself to a cup full of love.☕ A little self-love can go a long way. So take a minute of your day, and write a note of five things that you love of yourself, or simply look in the mirror and remind yourself of one quality you’re truly proud of. Repeat this cycle day in and day out, just like walking one foot in front of the other.

Be kind and recognise how incredible you are! Very few can embark on this journey and succeed, so don’t forget to pat yourself on the back and celebrate your small victories too. Sure this path is difficult and may wear you down. Understand that there will be hiccups along the way and you will fail. (Probably more than once) but you will rise. Its all part of the process. Its a long haul and you’re going to rely on yourself  for strength. You are smart. And because of your your intelligence you must outwit the journey and make it easier for yourself…

💡By creating a mental movie of how your success will look and when doubts or fear flood your mind play your movie so loud that it drowns out all of your negative noise. You can do this! Remember you can’t be successful if your mind and body isn’t healthy. 

You can’t pour from an empty cup. Take care of yourself first.😉

Blessings and Love….

70 thoughts on “SELF-CARE🌸

  1. How so creative and motivated. Literally you are blessed. I got positive vibes by reading your post.
    #you rock it friend ✌#keep it high
    #Stay blessed
    P.s – I’m on the way to read all your post. i want to take this as my morning tea. #you are just fabulous 👌

    You can’t pour from an empty cup. Take care of yourself first.😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is incredibly insightful and well thought out advice to share with the world! Thank you.

    I’ve been a nurse half my life now, and our nursing code of ethics states formally that the nurse cares for self as we care for our patients. It is incredibly unhelpful when we forget this as a collective group of people who care for the sick (and well) but we don’t do it for self or each other.

    And so it is for the world that we need to care for our selves (individually) and by doing so we ALSO actively care for one another (as a collective).

    And…ironically…or coincidentally because we do not often see into the very soul of another (and often, neither do we take the time to even see into our own souls as we go about the business of living a human life), we actually DO need to have a fairly healthy dose of faith that opens the channel into forgiveness and redemption…for kindness and fairness…for justice and compassion to animate us peoples of the Earth to see that we live and die together.

    Keep the Faith, Godly Chick! And thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE this post! You said everything perfectly and I love the verse you opened with. Overexertion IS romanticized! After a terrible bout with my health over the past year (largely due to the stress I was placing myself under because of school) I have been taking my own self care very seriously and I love reading things from others who do the same!
    May the peace of Jesus rule in your heart,
    Madeline

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for visiting my book review blog yesterday. Your post came at a part of my life where I have put my own happiness on the back burner for too long and it’s starting to wear me down. Thank you for the reminder to take care of myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @itisfavour😊Aw, Thank you! In agreement 100%. It’s so important that we take care of ourselves . I’m glad you choose to be ME-SPONSIBLE.😊 Hugs and God bless!!!

      Like

  5. Isaiah 40:31 is my favourite verse. Very practical items you shared that It is amazing the part that wholesome food, clean water, exercise and sleep all plays in our well being. Thank you for sharing and God’s blessings. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wowza! This is an amazing post. Being in my 60’s I found myself relating to each of your suggestions. This is good not only for young people but for every age group. Thank you for finding and following my blog! Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @@Christy B😊Thank you, Christy. This is so true! It’s important to have balance. It’s so easy to get consumed by work. We should make time for our happiness and mental wellbeing.God bless!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post !
    When I was a student I worried about whether I would pass or fail my degree. I also worried what people would think if i failed.
    The best advice I could give you is to just enjoy it regardless of the outcome ! When you enjoy student life, is gets easier.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

