Personal

A Splash Of Fear

F-E-A-R  has two meanings:  Forget Everything And Run Or Face Everything And Rise. The Choice is yours. ~ Zig Ziglar

Spontaneous is not the first adjective that my friends would use to describe me. I usually toe the line between fun-loving and responsible. Spontaneity falls outside of my comfort zone. I have known this about myself for a long time and I don’t think these attributes are necessary bad.  

Too often, we find ourselves trapped in the mindset of ‘have to‘. I know I’m not alone in this. We get so caught up in the whirlwind of our responsibilities and our interests. We are unfailingly hardworking. We schedule naps. We schedule social time. We fail to be spontaneous. 

I’ve always been an enthusiastic proponent to the seasons and chapters of my life. This allows me the vantage point from which I look towards life, with some semblance of control and also reference point when comparing my life to the monotonous everyday uncertainty of life. I don’t know why I put things off. But I guess it has a lot to do with fear. Sometimes the fear of just making a decision.  Because….. What if I’m wrong? What if I make a mistake I can’t undo? 

Whatever you’re afraid of, one thing holds true.  ‘The pain of not doing it, is much worst than the pain of doing it.  What a great seg way into this point, FEAR, really made me crumble into a ball of tears this semester. As much as I hated feeling harried, for me that’s been a valuable ‘me’ getting to know ‘me’ this semester. It’s Okay not to be Okay.  And as my mentor(dad) says, “Be the bestnot in the world, but for the world.

Without discounting truly tough circumstances and trials, sometimes, it’s not the stormy events of life that is easy to navigate, but the calm, monotonous, lack of direction and purpose. These times takes grit, fortitide and an ability to see past present circumstances to all that you hope to achieve, even if that path is obscured.

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear.” This epigraph, a Bene Gesserit quote from Frank Herbert’s Dune, can resonate with anyone.  Your current circumstances do not define your future.  You are still uniquely you. Focus on happiness because it lives within you. You only need to see it.

My university work literally consumed my life these past few months and I forgot what or how to actually relax. However, I would love to get back into the groove of hanging out with my friends and family. They are my yin to my yang.😊Especially my friends I don’t normally get to see anymore. We need our friends to challenge, comfort and love us.  And if those blessings are to be measured, then surely my cup is overflowing. 

Cheers to self-awareness, growth and positivity…

Blessings  xoxo

18 thoughts on “A Splash Of Fear

  1. FEAR is also “false evidence appearing real.” It flourishes to the degree we’re not rooted in grounded in the Lord’s perfect love (Ephesians 3:17,1John 4:18).

    Hi June! Thanks for hanging out on the Vine with us at Vine Life Faith. Love that your using your platform to share God’s grace with your peers. It’s so nice to meet you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @Ginny😊Thank you, mam. I am so glad that you like my blog theme. I will send you my blog theme shortly and even help you set it up.😊 However, Please bear with me, I am in the throes of my exam. Will finish shortly. Thank you. God Bless!

      Like

Leave a Reply

