Travel

Hiking Trails And Road Trips🌾🍃

The moment my legs begin to move, my thoughts begin to flow ~ Henry David Thoreau

Before I communicate a perspective of myself as someone who wants to *renounce* the world. I would like to emphatically state that NO,  I am not reaching for a hybrid existence.

With humor, self deprecating glee and the real feel for the camaraderie, I have just crossed over the threshold into the non-hiking world as we know it.

Oh yeah!, it’s also tough as hell and you will wish you were dead. Okay, maybe I’m being a bit melodramatic, but hiking is no walk in the park. (Pun intended:  just couldn’t resist.)😉

A journey begins with a single step, so the ancient mantra goes.  As I mustered up the courage to set out on my first hike ever, it might not have been the best decision I have ever made.

Perhaps it is the mediative space that nature provides.  The experience has been without exception, both powerful and fundamental.  What is offered to us from the natural world is a lot more awe-inspiring, beautiful and facinating. Appreciating the natural world has little to do with how fast or how long you walk, its everything to do with how fast you take on board Mother Nature’s lessons.

As the song goes “Might as well be walking on the sun” by Smash Mouth *ditto* I  am notoriously bad at coping with sunshine. I sometimes forget that the sun is still a gigantic ball of UV emitting nuclear fire. It’s imperative that we are committed to our SPFs, is it not? Real talk for a minute *ahem* I am actually scared of the possibility of getting melanoma.

With my heart pounding and my not-quite-but-close-to gasping for air literally does apply with my breathing. I am exhausted. Its been like hours (Ok,maybe just past an hour.) My calves starts to burn, my knees starts to hurt and my legs starts to feel like Jello.  I know, you don’t have to be fatalistic about how much pain and stiffness you have endured. Believe me, nobody is keeping score except my sore, sore muscles. No, you cannot ease the pain with *pop an aspirin*  Hiking soreness is the price you pay, right?😭

Well, I’m gonna say as cliche as it sounds,  I am definitely not a fan of hiking. Alright, I’m not going to lie to you- I hate (maybe dislike) hiking. Its simply not me. However, completing the hike has been one if the most profoundly rewarding achievement of my life. 🙌

But as a way of life, definitely a No-no for me.  Yes, I want selectively beaming rays of sunshine, but I also want chocolate ice-cream and macarons too.

Blessings….

2 thoughts on “Hiking Trails And Road Trips🌾🍃

Leave a Reply

